Butterfield Blues Band-(2CDS) COMPLETE Live 1970
Click to enlarge
Butterfield Blues Band-(2CDS) COMPLETE Live 1970
[ Woundedbird6014 ]
Price: $17.00

In 1967, inspired by his idol Junior Parker, Butterfield formed a "big band" that featured a Gene Dinwiddie-arranged horn section and by the late '60s included Ralph Walsh (guitar), Rod Hicks (bass), Ted Harris (piano), and George Davidson (drums). Seasoned in blues, jazz, and R&B, the group assembled at L.A.'s Troubadour club in March of 1970 to play the gigs recorded for this release. Sophisticated yet free-ranging, this unclassifiable ensemble proved the perfect backing for Butterfield's "heavy feeling." In addition to the material from the original 1971 Todd Rundgren-produced double LP, this expanded release contains a second disc of previously unreleased performances from the same series of shows at The Troubadour.  More than any other Butterfield release, this cd shows Paul's debt to one of his main inspirations...Little Jr. Parker. A horn heavy funky work out, "Live" showcases a series of shows done at the Troubador in Los Angeles in the spring of 1970. The entire 2 LP set is included on disc one and another 60+ minutes from the same shows make up disc two. Butterfield always drew from many sources of inspiration and this band reflects his eclectic taste and "big ears."..............


1. Everything Going To Be Alright 

2. Love Disease 

3. The Boxer 

4. No Amount Of Loving 

5. Driftin' And Driftin' 

6. Intro To Musicians 

7. Number Nine 

8. I Want To Be With You 

9. Born Under A Bad Sign 

10. Get Together Again 

11. So Far, So Good


1. Gene's Tune
2. Nobody's Fault But Mine
3. Losing Hand
4. All In A Day
5. Feel So Bad
6. Except You
7. You've Got To Love Her With A Feeling
8. Love March